Dielsen ignores blog posting taking on Trib’s endorsement of Obama

What does a blogger have to do to get some attention for the good things he’s doing these days?

Yesterday I submitted a blog posting here that took a critical look at the Chicago Tribune endorsing Barack Obama over John McCain for president. For the first time in its history, the Trib is backing a Democratic nominee. There have only been two times when “the Republican voice of the Midwest” has not supported the GOP candidate for president (Horace Greeley over Ulysses S. Grant and Theodore Roosevelt over William Howard Taft).

The Trib cited how the Republican Party has strayed from its principles in the last eight years and how McCain has turned his back on many of the initiatives he championed in his 2000 presidential bid. Fair enough.

But for a publication with a history of backing Republican values, I thought the Trib was tossing its traditions overboard. One argument the paper could have made in backing McCain is that the divided government we had for most of former President Bill Clinton’s time in office served the nation well. The Democrats may increase their majorities in both the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate, and with a president from the same party there would be little in the way of a check and balance.

I thought this was a pretty astute observation on my part and I shared it with Dave Diefsen of Wheaton, editor of the Web site GOPUSA Illinois. This past week I’ve been challenging Diegsen to publicly justify his claim that G. Gordon Liddy shouldn’t be labeled a domestic terrorist along with the likes of William Ayers.

Diexsen claimed I was a promoter of Ayers and Obama (I have categorically denied this while once again demanding Dietsen provide proof of his claim), so I thought it would be good to show Diemsen that I was not the stereotypical left-wing journalist he probably thinks I am.

Sadly, Diebsen failed to mention my cogent analysis of the Trib’s endorsement on his Web site. Sure, Diedsen highlighted another posting I had yesterday in which I once again challenged him to substantialte his charges. But there was nothing about my take on the Tribune endorsement.

I thought Diecsen would be happy that I took on the Trib’s editorial board for straying from its conservative tradition by backing Obama. I’m not sure what Diensen wants from me, but I’m going to keep trying my best. I only hope that Diepsen one day appreciates that I’m trying to reach out and find common ground.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Dielsen ignores blog posting taking on Trib’s endorsement of Obama

  1. mw

    Jerry,
    Good post. I have been beating the divided government drum for two years on my blog. I voted for John Kerry to get divided government in 2004 and lost. I supported a straight Dem ticket in 2006 to get divided government and won. This year I will vote to re-elect divided government by supporting John McCain.

    This scholarly article from a Constitutional lawyer puts more than a little academic cred behind the divided government thesis. The only way to re-elect Divided Government in 2008, is elect John McCain for President. It is the right thing to do.

  2. To mw:
    Thank you for your comments, and I appreciate the link to that article. I hope the article helps people clarify how they intend to vote. Thanks for reading my blog.
    — Jerry Moore

  3. Excellent blog! Interesting article and very informative! I will necessarily subscribe for this blog. http://onlineoneru.ru/map.html

Leave a comment